The church of St. George the Victorious on Pskov hill was built in 1658 on the grounds of a 15h century church.
The Church was named afterdescendants from the old Russian city of Pskov who lived there. The gilded central dome of the church is surrounded by smaller blue domes decorated with gilded stars.
A bas –relief decor of a brick facade, that was popular in Russia architecture in the second half of the 17th century, makes the building very picturesque.
A refectory west of the building is connected to the belfry built in a neo-gothic style in 1818.
Fragments of interesting wall paintings emerged from under plaster after restorers removed numerous layers added later that concealed original wall paintings. In the 1930s the church was closed, After restoration carried out in the 1970s the building was used for exhibition grounds of the all- Russia society for protection of monuments of culture and art.
At present, the Church of St. George on Pskov Hill belongs to the town house of the Patriarchy on the premises of Moscow China town.
Address: 12, Varvarka St., Moscow
Underground: Kitay-gorod (Kaluzhsko-Rizhskoy linii)