The Novaya Ladoga Museum of Local History and Tradition preserves the history of Novaya (New) Ladoga - a town just one year younger than St.Petersburg. It is located at the Volkhov River emptying into Ladoga Lake, 12 km northwest of Staraya (Old) Ladoga, the cradle of Russian State.
Novaya Ladoga was started as a shipyard in 1704. The canals that were dug here to avoid stormy Ladoga Lake add to the scenery of the place. With many buildings surviving from the 18th -19th centuries, the town has retained the charm of a Russian provincial town.
The museum occupies the two-story house of merchant Timofeev. The idea to found it dates back to 1939 but World War II interfered with the plans. It was only in 1949 that the first exhibit was set here devoted to famous Russian commander of the 18th century Aleksandr Suvorov who once lived in Novaya Ladoga.
The collection of the museum has substantially expanded since then. Its historic section includes a separate display of the Soviet period in the town history and that of the World War II time when the Ladoga flotilla headquarters was placed here. An amusing exhibit recreating merchant home interiors, furnishings and belongings is also of interest.
Rich woods, picturesque canals, vicinity of Ladoga lake, as well as tourist infrastructure presented by Ladoga Tourist Center, Center of Youth Tourism and Raduga Hotel provide excellent opportunities for group and individual travel. Lodging, Russian bath, fish smoking, billiard, sports equipment on lease, yachting tours on special orders are available.
16 Pionerskaya St., Novaya Ladoga, Leningrad region; phone (8263) 305 98
9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Closed Mondays