Russia State   Regions
 :: Articles
Aginsky-Buryat AO
Altaisky Krai
Amurskaya Oblast
Arkhangelskaya Oblast
Astrakhanskaya Oblast
Belgorodskaya Oblast
Bryanskaya Oblast
Chelyabinskaya Oblast
Chitinskaya Oblast
Chukotsky AO
Evenksky AO
Irkutskaya Oblast
Ivanovskaya Oblast
Jewish Autonomous Oblast
Kaliningradskaya Oblast
Kaluzhskaya Oblast
Kamchatskaya Oblast
Kemerovskaya Oblast
Khabarovsky krai
Khanty - Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug
Kirovskaya Oblast
Komi-Permyatsky AO
Koryaksky Autonomous Okrug
Kostromskaya Oblast
Krasnodarsky Krai
Krasnoyarsky Krai
Kurganskaya Oblast
Kurskaya Oblast
Leningradskaya Oblast
Lipetskaya Oblast
Magadanskaya Oblast
Moscovskaya Oblast
Murmanskaya Oblast
Nenetsky AO
Nizhegorodskaya Oblast
Novgorodskaya Oblast
Novosibirskaya Oblast
Omskaya Oblast
Orenburgskaya Oblast
Orlovskaya Oblast
Penzenskaya Oblast
Permskaya Oblast
Primorsky krai
Pskovskaya Oblast
Rostovskaya Oblast
Ryazanskaya Oblast
Sakhalinskaya Oblast
Samarskaya Oblast
Saratovskaya Oblast
Smolenskaya Oblast
Stavropolsky krai
Sverdlovskaya Oblast
Taimyrsky AO
Tambovskaya Oblast
The Adygea Republic
The Altai Republic
The Bashkortostan Republic
The Buryatia Republic
The Chechnya Republic
The Chuvash Rebublic
The Dagestan Republic
The Ingushetia Republic
The Kabardino-Balkaria
The Kalmykia Republic
The Karachayevo-Circassian Republic
The Karelia Republic
The Khakasia Republic
The Komi Republic
The Mari El Republic
The Mordovian Republic
The North Ossetia
The Sakha Republic (Yakutia)
The Tatarstan Republic
The Tyva Republic
The Udmurtia Republic
Tomskaya Oblast
Tulskaya Oblast
Tverskaya Oblast
Tyumenskaya Oblast
Ulyanovskaya Oblast
Ust-Ordynsky Buryatsky AO
Vladimirskaya Oblast
Volgogradskaya Oblast
Vologodskaya Oblast
Voronezhskaya Oblast
Yamalo-Nenetsky AO
Yaroslavskaya Oblast
 :: Search
Search in articles
Search in current section
 :: Constructor
 :: Game server
 :: Test

Rostovskaya Oblast

Rostovskaya OblastRostovskaya Oblast is situated in the south of the East European plain near Caucasus. The oblast is washed by the Gulf of Taganrog of the Sea of Azov. Rostovskaya Oblast borders upon Stavropol and Krasnodar Territories, Ukraine, Voronezhskaya Oblast, Volgogradskaya Oblast and the Republic of Kalmykia.
The main rivers are Don and Northern Donets. There are some lakes and three water basins Tsymlyanskoye, Veselovskoye and Proletarskoye.
The climate is moderately continental. The average temperature of January is -9 degrees (in the north) and -5 degrees (in the south), the average temperature of July varies from +22 and +24 degrees centigrade. Precipitations are of 400-650 mm a year.
Rostovskaya Oblast was formed on September 13, 1937. Its area is 100,8 thousand sq. km. Distance between Rostov-on-Don and Moscow is 1226 km. The oblast is divided into 42 districts, 22 cities and towns, 16 urban districts, 37 urban, 416 villages. The regional centre is Rostov-on-DRostovskaya Oblaston. The city was founded in 1749.
The population of the oblast (January 1, 1998) is 4387,6 thousand people. Density of population makes 43,5 per sq. km.
The largest cities are Rostov-on-Don (1008,5 thousand inhabitants), Taganrog (288,6), Shakhty (225,1), Novocherkassk (186,1), Volgodonsk (181,2), Novoshakhtinsk (103,3).
Rostovskaya Oblast is rich in cultural, historical and folklore traditions. It is the native land of great Russian writers Chekhov and Sholokhov. This land lies on the junction of caravan and trade ways between West and East, North and South. That is why it is very interesting for archeologists. Many monuments are preserved even today.
Rostov-on-Don is one of the largest cities of the South of Russia. It is the industrial, scientific and cultural centre of the North Caucasian region of the country. The city is situated at the junction of Northern Caucasus, Central Russia and Ukraine. Therefore the city of the Don Cossacks is often called "The Gate of Caucasus".

Copyright © RIN 2001-. Russia Russia site map Feedback