Russia State   Regions
 :: Articles
Aginsky-Buryat AO
Altaisky Krai
Amurskaya Oblast
Arkhangelskaya Oblast
Astrakhanskaya Oblast
Belgorodskaya Oblast
Bryanskaya Oblast
Chelyabinskaya Oblast
Chitinskaya Oblast
Chukotsky AO
Evenksky AO
Irkutskaya Oblast
Ivanovskaya Oblast
Jewish Autonomous Oblast
Kaliningradskaya Oblast
Kaluzhskaya Oblast
Kamchatskaya Oblast
Kemerovskaya Oblast
Khabarovsky krai
Khanty - Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug
Kirovskaya Oblast
Komi-Permyatsky AO
Koryaksky Autonomous Okrug
Kostromskaya Oblast
Krasnodarsky Krai
Krasnoyarsky Krai
Kurganskaya Oblast
Kurskaya Oblast
Leningradskaya Oblast
Lipetskaya Oblast
Magadanskaya Oblast
Moscovskaya Oblast
Murmanskaya Oblast
Nenetsky AO
Nizhegorodskaya Oblast
Novgorodskaya Oblast
Novosibirskaya Oblast
Omskaya Oblast
Orenburgskaya Oblast
Orlovskaya Oblast
Penzenskaya Oblast
Permskaya Oblast
Primorsky krai
Pskovskaya Oblast
Rostovskaya Oblast
Ryazanskaya Oblast
Sakhalinskaya Oblast
Samarskaya Oblast
Saratovskaya Oblast
Smolenskaya Oblast
Stavropolsky krai
Sverdlovskaya Oblast
Taimyrsky AO
Tambovskaya Oblast
The Adygea Republic
The Altai Republic
The Bashkortostan Republic
The Buryatia Republic
The Chechnya Republic
The Chuvash Rebublic
The Dagestan Republic
The Ingushetia Republic
The Kabardino-Balkaria
The Kalmykia Republic
The Karachayevo-Circassian Republic
The Karelia Republic
The Khakasia Republic
The Komi Republic
The Mari El Republic
The Mordovian Republic
The North Ossetia
The Sakha Republic (Yakutia)
The Tatarstan Republic
The Tyva Republic
The Udmurtia Republic
Tomskaya Oblast
Tulskaya Oblast
Tverskaya Oblast
Tyumenskaya Oblast
Ulyanovskaya Oblast
Ust-Ordynsky Buryatsky AO
Vladimirskaya Oblast
Volgogradskaya Oblast
Vologodskaya Oblast
Voronezhskaya Oblast
Yamalo-Nenetsky AO
Yaroslavskaya Oblast
 :: Search
Search in articles
Search in current section
 :: Constructor
 :: Game server
 :: Test

Yamalo-Nenetsky AO

Yamalo-Nenetsky AOYamalo-Nenetsky autonomous okrug is a whole country in the centre of the Extreme North of Russia. It is situated in the north of the world largest West Siberian plain. The region occupies more than 750 thousand square kilometers (one and a half time as large than France). The northernmost continental point of the region is in 800 km from the Northern Polar circle outside of which lies more than 50 percents of the territory of Yamalo-Nenetsky autonomous okrug.
The region borders upon the Republic of Komi, Khanty-Mansiysky and Taimyrsky autonomous okrugs. The northern border is washed by the Arctic Ocean. The region consists of 7 cities and 6 districts.
The total number of population is about 500 thousand people, including 32 thousand representatives of the native peoples: the Nenets, the Khanty and the Selkups.
The capital of the region is Salekhard (former Obdorsk). The city was founded by Cossacks in 1595. Yamalo-Nenetsky autonomous okrug is the historical native land of the peoples of the North. Today the national structure of the population is like this: the Russians - 62,8 %, the Ukrainians - 5,8 %, the Tatars - 5,8 %, the Nenets - 4 %, the Khanty - 1,5 % and the Komi - 1 %.
During the Soviet period the first centres of culture appeared as soon as the region was organized. They solved such various problems as liquidation of illiteracy, and sanitary education. The first department of culture was organized in 1945 being attached to the district executive committee, and a cultural and educational school was established. The national and cultural politics, which had formed for decades, began to yield results. The only local writer of the first years of the Soviet power I.Nogo (the author of plays "Shaman" and "Vauli Piettomi", written in 1932-1934) acquired followers.

Copyright © RIN 2001-. Russia Russia site map Feedback