Russia State   Regions
 :: Articles
Aginsky-Buryat AO
Altaisky Krai
Amurskaya Oblast
Arkhangelskaya Oblast
Astrakhanskaya Oblast
Belgorodskaya Oblast
Bryanskaya Oblast
Chelyabinskaya Oblast
Chitinskaya Oblast
Chukotsky AO
Evenksky AO
Irkutskaya Oblast
Ivanovskaya Oblast
Jewish Autonomous Oblast
Kaliningradskaya Oblast
Kaluzhskaya Oblast
Kamchatskaya Oblast
Kemerovskaya Oblast
Khabarovsky krai
Khanty - Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug
Kirovskaya Oblast
Komi-Permyatsky AO
Koryaksky Autonomous Okrug
Kostromskaya Oblast
Krasnodarsky Krai
Krasnoyarsky Krai
Kurganskaya Oblast
Kurskaya Oblast
Leningradskaya Oblast
Lipetskaya Oblast
Magadanskaya Oblast
Moscovskaya Oblast
Murmanskaya Oblast
Nenetsky AO
Nizhegorodskaya Oblast
Novgorodskaya Oblast
Novosibirskaya Oblast
Omskaya Oblast
Orenburgskaya Oblast
Orlovskaya Oblast
Penzenskaya Oblast
Permskaya Oblast
Primorsky krai
Pskovskaya Oblast
Rostovskaya Oblast
Ryazanskaya Oblast
Sakhalinskaya Oblast
Samarskaya Oblast
Saratovskaya Oblast
Smolenskaya Oblast
Stavropolsky krai
Sverdlovskaya Oblast
Taimyrsky AO
Tambovskaya Oblast
The Adygea Republic
The Altai Republic
The Bashkortostan Republic
The Buryatia Republic
The Chechnya Republic
The Chuvash Rebublic
The Dagestan Republic
The Ingushetia Republic
The Kabardino-Balkaria
The Kalmykia Republic
The Karachayevo-Circassian Republic
The Karelia Republic
The Khakasia Republic
The Komi Republic
The Mari El Republic
The Mordovian Republic
The North Ossetia
The Sakha Republic (Yakutia)
The Tatarstan Republic
The Tyva Republic
The Udmurtia Republic
Tomskaya Oblast
Tulskaya Oblast
Tverskaya Oblast
Tyumenskaya Oblast
Ulyanovskaya Oblast
Ust-Ordynsky Buryatsky AO
Vladimirskaya Oblast
Volgogradskaya Oblast
Vologodskaya Oblast
Voronezhskaya Oblast
Yamalo-Nenetsky AO
Yaroslavskaya Oblast
 :: Search
Search in articles
Search in current section
 :: Constructor
 :: Game server
 :: Test

Khanty - Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug

Khanty - Mansiysk Autonomous OkrugThe Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug is the equal member of the Russian Federation.
The Okrug is a historic motherland of the small in number native peoples Khanty and Mansi and the Okrug was named after these peoples.
The territory of the Autonomous Okrug comprises the territories of following cities of the okrug importance: Beloyarsky, Kogalym, Langepas, Megion, Nefteyugansk, Nizhnevartovsk, Nyagan, Pokachy, Pit-Yakh, Raduzhny, Surgut, Urai, Khanty-Mansiysk, Yugorsk ; and the territories of Beloyarsky, Berezovsky, Kondinsky, Nefteyugansky, Nizhnevartovsky, Oktyabrsky, Sovetsky, Surgutsky, Khanty-Mansiysky districts.

There are 22 municipal unities in total.

Administrative Centre of the Okrug is Khanty-Mansiysk.

The population of the Okrug is 1401,9 ths people (for the 1-st of January, 2001).

The Okrug occupies the area of 534,8 ths sq. km.

The main historical dates of the Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug's formation:
1708 - In accordance with the Decree by Peter I the Siberian province was founded (It included towns of Berezov, Surgut);
1775 - In accordance with the Decree by Yekaterina II the Tobolskaya province was formed, which joined almost the whole Western Siberia;
1918 - The Tobolskaya province was renamed Tyumenskaya province and the centre was moved to the city of Tyumen;
1923 - Provinces , uyezds, volosts were abolished. The Uralskaya Region, Tobolsky Area and such districts as Berezovsky, Surgutsky, Samarovsky, Kondinsky were formed;
1930 - In accordance with the Decree of RCEC (Russian Central Executive Committee) the Ostyako-Vogulsky National Okrug with the centre in the Samarovo village (Khanty-Mansiysk) was formed;
1934 - In connection with the Uralskaya Region's breaking up into smaller units the Ob-Irtyshskaya Region with the centre in Tyumen was formed;
1934 - the Okrug became a part of the Omsk Region;
1944 - In accordance with the Decree of the Presidium Supreme Soviet of the USSR the Tyumen Region was formed, and the Khanty-Mansiysk National Okrug was joined to it;
1977 - The Khanty-Mansiysk National Okrug received the status of the Autonomous Okrug;
1993 - The Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug got a status of the equal member of the Russian Federation in accordance with Article 65 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation.
Symbols of the Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug are the emblem and flag of the Okrug.
The aboriginal small-in-number peoples of the Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug - Khanty and Mansi - are two related peoples. The words "khanty" and "mansi" are the names of these peoples. As official names they were accepted after 1917, but in old scientific literature and documents of the Tsar period the Khanty people were cKhanty - Mansiysk Autonomous Okrugalled as "Ostyaki" and the Mansi people were called as "Voguly" or "Vogulichi".
At present the Khanty and Mansi peoples live in the Khanty-Mansiysk and Yamalo-Nenetsky Autonomous Okrugs, some of them - in Tomsk, Sverdlovsk, Perm Regions. According to data of general census of the population of 1979 there are about 21 ths. of Khanty people and over 7,5 ths. of Mansi people.
The Khanty and Mansi were traditionally considered semi-settled hunters and fishermen. Besides, they were engaged in reindeer husbandry in the North and cattle farming in the South. Hunters and fishermen of each tribe had seasonal settlements and houses. There were many different types of houses, some of them were seasonal, prefabricated, other - permanent. There were different household buildings and cult structures.
At present the Okrug is the main oil and gas-bearing region of the Russian Federation. The largest oil and gas deposits in the Okrug are Samotlorskoe, Fedorovskoe, Mamontovskoe and Priobskoe.

Copyright © RIN 2001-. Russia Russia site map Feedback