Russia State   Regions
 :: Articles
Aginsky-Buryat AO
Altaisky Krai
Amurskaya Oblast
Arkhangelskaya Oblast
Astrakhanskaya Oblast
Belgorodskaya Oblast
Bryanskaya Oblast
Chelyabinskaya Oblast
Chitinskaya Oblast
Chukotsky AO
Evenksky AO
Irkutskaya Oblast
Ivanovskaya Oblast
Jewish Autonomous Oblast
Kaliningradskaya Oblast
Kaluzhskaya Oblast
Kamchatskaya Oblast
Kemerovskaya Oblast
Khabarovsky krai
Khanty - Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug
Kirovskaya Oblast
Komi-Permyatsky AO
Koryaksky Autonomous Okrug
Kostromskaya Oblast
Krasnodarsky Krai
Krasnoyarsky Krai
Kurganskaya Oblast
Kurskaya Oblast
Leningradskaya Oblast
Lipetskaya Oblast
Magadanskaya Oblast
Moscovskaya Oblast
Murmanskaya Oblast
Nenetsky AO
Nizhegorodskaya Oblast
Novgorodskaya Oblast
Novosibirskaya Oblast
Omskaya Oblast
Orenburgskaya Oblast
Orlovskaya Oblast
Penzenskaya Oblast
Permskaya Oblast
Primorsky krai
Pskovskaya Oblast
Rostovskaya Oblast
Ryazanskaya Oblast
Sakhalinskaya Oblast
Samarskaya Oblast
Saratovskaya Oblast
Smolenskaya Oblast
Stavropolsky krai
Sverdlovskaya Oblast
Taimyrsky AO
Tambovskaya Oblast
The Adygea Republic
The Altai Republic
The Bashkortostan Republic
The Buryatia Republic
The Chechnya Republic
The Chuvash Rebublic
The Dagestan Republic
The Ingushetia Republic
The Kabardino-Balkaria
The Kalmykia Republic
The Karachayevo-Circassian Republic
The Karelia Republic
The Khakasia Republic
The Komi Republic
The Mari El Republic
The Mordovian Republic
The North Ossetia
The Sakha Republic (Yakutia)
The Tatarstan Republic
The Tyva Republic
The Udmurtia Republic
Tomskaya Oblast
Tulskaya Oblast
Tverskaya Oblast
Tyumenskaya Oblast
Ulyanovskaya Oblast
Ust-Ordynsky Buryatsky AO
Vladimirskaya Oblast
Volgogradskaya Oblast
Vologodskaya Oblast
Voronezhskaya Oblast
Yamalo-Nenetsky AO
Yaroslavskaya Oblast
 :: Search
Search in articles
Search in current section
 :: Constructor
 :: Game server
 :: Test

Saratovskaya Oblast

Saratovskaya OblastSaratovskaya oblast is situated in the southeast of the East European plain. Saratovskaya oblast borders upon Volgogradskaya, Voronezhskaya, Tambovskaya, Penzenskaya, Ulyanovskaya, Samarskaya oblasts and Kazakhstan.
The main river Volga divides oblast into two parts. The climate is continental. The average temperature of January is -12 degrees, of July - +22 degrees centigrade. Precipitations are 250-450 mm a year. Saratovskaya Oblast was formed in January 10, 1934. Its area is 100,2 thousand sq. km. (0,59 % of the total area of the Russian Federation).
The oblast consists of 38 districts, 17 cities and towns, 34 urban settlements, 597 villages. The regional centre is Saratov. The city was founded in 1590. The distance between Moscow and Saratov is 858 km.
Other cities of the region are Atkarsk, Balakovo, Balashov, Volsk, Krasnoarmeysk, Marx (1918), Petrovsk (1780), Pugachev (1835), Rtishevo (1920), KhvalynskSaratovskaya Oblast (1780) and Engels (1914).
Saratov Territory, renamed in 1936 into Saratovskaya Oblast, exists since 1934. Predecessors of the oblast were the Saratov region ruled by governor-general (1780-1797) and then the Saratov province (1797-1928).
Having arisen at the border of forest-steppe and steppe at the end of XVI century as a fortress, Saratov in XVIII century became the largest trans-shipment point for fish, salt and grain trade. Bread and the advantageous geographical position made Saratov one of the main cities of the Volga region and the country.
At the close of the XIX century - beginning of XX century the Saratov land was one of "the painful spots" of Russia. Among all the Chernozem provinces Saratov was most droughty and infertile. It was the consequence of the unlimited freedom, Razin's and Pugachev's regimesSaratovskaya Oblast. There were disorder and constant peasant revolts. For the appointed governor P.Stolypin it was the most suitable place to show his stern character and abilities to suppress distemper that were necessary for this future Minister of Internal Affairs and the Chairman of the government. Saratovskaya oblast is the unique historical and cultural region of Russia. The Saratov theatre of G.V.Gladkov was one of the first Russian theatres (1803); in 1890 here appeared the Folk Theatre. Today there are 13 theatres in Saratovskaya Oblast. Personnel of about 15 thousands work in them, including 16 national and 52 honored artists of the Russian Federation.
Saratov was the city where the first national circus appeared (1873).
Saratov is famous for its musical and theatrical traditions - opera troupes, choruses, orchestras, singing culture, national creativity.
Saratovskaya oblast is the educational centre of experts for culture and art. Here work the Saratov State Conservatory named after L.V.Sobinov, 7 specialized secondary educational institutions, including those of art, culture and music.

Copyright © RIN 2001-. Russia Russia site map Feedback